A.i.R. Reflections: Kelly McCafferty

Kelly McCafferty

Kelly is a resident at Byrdcliffe until the end of September, 2014. To see more of her work, visit www.kellymccafferty.net or come to Open Studios at the Byrdcliffe Colony on September 20th, from 5-8pm.

Q.What mediums do you work with? Where are you from?

A. I make installations, artist’s books, collages, drawings, etc. My work involves the collection and arrangement of found images/objects with the additional combination of fabric, tape, yarn, thread, paper, beads, etc. I grew up in Kentucky and now I live in NYC and Miami.

 

Kelly__1

Q. How as Byrdcliffe inspired you or (in general) what inspires you?

A. I really love Byrdcliffe. I love my studio and the skylights and tall ceiling. I love my bedroom in the Villetta. I love the creaky floors and the strange collection of paintings, furniture and textiles in the house. I especially love lying in the sun on the front porch and having breakfast there in the mornings and looking out at the forest. I love walking down the windy roads around Byrdcliffe. I love the variety of animals in and around the Villetta (spiders, chipmunks, rabbits and deer.) The quietness here is so satisfying.

 

Kelly_

Kelly__3

Q.What are you working on while here, at Byrdcliffe?

A. I am working on a large collage/drawing that is about crystals and rocks, 5 artist’s books (three are paper books, one is canvas and one is felt), and multiple small drawings/collages.

Kelly__2

Q. Can you describe where your imagery comes from, and the discourse your work has taken within the last few years?

A. At Byrdcliffe, I have been working with images of a variety of animals including conure birds which for me represent longing and fantasy and ferrets which I associate with the unpredictable nature of children and youth. I have also been working with images of crystals which for me represent desire. I collect crystals (outside of my work) and I am currently fascinated with the idea of whether the collection of images of specific objects can satisfy or emulate the satisfaction of collecting the actual objects. I have also been working with images I collected locally at Val-Kill and Hancock Shaker Village as well as surrounding towns. For me, the best part of a residency is living in a new place and collecting source materials from a new environment—the idea of losing the tight control I have over my work, materials and environment at home and seeing what exciting things happen.

 

Kelly__4

Leave a Reply

