WORKS IN PROGRESS #2: DARYL BERGMAN

Byrdcliffe A.i.R. Presents
Works in Progress
Short Insights into the Creative Process

#2 Daryl Bergman

1. What is your artistic process like?

Normally, I collect lost of objects and images from thrift stores, the internet, magazines, etc. When I start a new body of work, I pick images from this inventory to be made into drawings, paintings or photographs.  Later, I usually organize  them into installations.

2. What have you been pursuing during your residency at Byrdcliffe?
At Byrdcliffe, I am focusing on paintings. I have made two small bodies of work, one of which focuses on color, and another on small patterns. The idea is that each is a kind of small visual index. Eventually, I would like to make a larger series.

3. How has the Byrdcliffe Residency affected your work and/or process? Can you describe any moments of inspiration?
I think that simply having time to work has helped me to focus my energy and really figure out these creative impulses I have been having for the past year or so. Byrdcliffe has given me the time and space I needed to do it!

Daryl will be presenting new works during Byrdcliffe’s June 30th Open Studio at the Byrdcliffe Arts Colony. For more information please visit http://woodstockguild.org/.  For more of Daryl’s work, visit http://darylbergman.com/

Leave a Reply

